Blog - Latest News

Historical grape varieties

The forgotten grape varieties of the Champagne. What is not known to many in the public, in Champagne and for the production of Champagne seven grape varieties are permitted. There are two black grape varieties and five white ones. For decades now, only the three grape varieties Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier have been cultivated in the Champagne region and used for the production of champagne. The background is based on the optimization of the yields. Currently, 99.7% of the vineyards in the Champagne region are planted with these three grape varieties.

A few vintners have committed themselves to continue cultivating historic Champagne grape varieties and to preserve them for posterity. The four almost only historic grape varieties are all white wine grape varieties. They are Arbane, Petit Meslier, Pinot Blanc (Pinot Blanc) and Pinot Gris. The planted area for the four grape varieties is less than 0.3% of the total cultivated area, Champagne.

Nevertheless, the four white wine grape varieties have their right to exist. What wonderful champagnes can be created from these almost forgotten grape varieties is shown by the example of the single-varietal Pinot Blanc champagnes from the Fleury family, with the Fleury Notes Blanches Brut Nature, and from winemaker Noel Leblond-Lenoir, with the Cuvée Perle de Dizet. Moreover, Champagne Noel Leblond-Lenoir produces the Cuvée Arbane, a single-varietal Arbane champagne. Since these variants are single-varietal and usually single-vineyard champagnes, these champagnes are of course produced exclusively in very good years.

As the grape variety is only grown on a small vineyard, production is limited to a maximum of 600 bottles per year.

The Arbane grape variety is an autochthonous grape variety that grows exclusively in Champagne and here only in the Côte des Bar. Only three vintners (as of 2019) produce single-varietal Arbane champagnes. But be careful, who once had the pleasure to taste such a champagne, might fall for it.

en_USEnglish

Blog - Aktuelle Neuigkeiten

Historische Rebsorten

Die vergessenen Rebsorten der Champagne. Was in der Öffentlichkeit vielen nicht bekannt ist, in der Champagne und für die Herstellung von Champagner sind sieben Rebsorten zugelassen. Dabei handelt es sich um zwei schwarze Traubensorten und fünf weiße. Seit mittlerweile Jahrzehnten werden in der Champagne nur noch fast ausschließlich die drei Rebsorten Chardonnay, Pinot Noir und Pinot Meunier kultiviert und für die Herstellung von Champagner genutzt. Der Hintergrund liegt in der Optimierung der Erträge begründet. Aktuell sind 99,7% der Weinberge, in der Champagne, mit diesen drei Rebsorten bestockt.

Einige wenige Winzer haben sich die Selbstverpflichtung auferlegt auch weiterhin historische Champagne Rebsorten zu kultivieren und der Nachwelt zu erhalten. Die vier fast nur noch historischen Rebsorten sind allesamt Weißwein Rebsorten. Es handelt sich um Arbane, Petit Meslier, Pinot Blanc (Weißburgunder) und Pinot Gris. Die bestockte Rebfläche für die vier Rebsorten liegt bei weniger als 0,3% der gesamten Anbaufläche, der Champagne.

Nichtsdestotrotz haben die vier Weißwein Rebsorten durchaus ihre Daseinsberechtigung. Welch wunderbare Champagner aus diesen fast vergessenen Rebsorten entstehen können zeigt sich an dem Beispiel der sortenreinen Pinot Blanc Champagner der Winzerfamilie Fleury, mit dem Fleury Notes Blanches Brut Nature und vom Winzer Noel Leblond-Lenoir, mit dem Cuvée Perle de Dizet. Die Champagne Noel Leblond-Lenoir stellt zudem mit dem Cuvée Arbane einen sortenreinen Arbane Champagner her. Da es sich bei diesen Varianten um sortenreine und in der Regel Einzellagen Champagner handelt, werden diese Champagner selbstredend ausschließlich in sehr guten Jahren hergestellt.

Da die Rebsorte lediglich auf einem kleinen Weinberg angebaut wird, beschränkt sich die Produktion auf jährlich maximal 600 Flaschen.

Die Rebsorte Arbane ist eine autochthone Rebsorte, die ausschließlich in der Champagne und hier lediglich in der Côte des Bar wächst. Lediglich drei Winzer (Stand 2019) stellen sortenreine Arbane Champagner her. Aber Vorsicht, wer einmal das Vergnügen hatte einen solchen Champagner verkosten zu dürfen, könnte ihm verfallen.

de_DEDeutsch